members area login
Membership Number
Not yet a member? click here to join
NSChE Foundation

Motto .. National development through Chemical Engineering

The NIGERIAN SOCIETY OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERS FOUNDATION is the brain child of the first "visioning" exercise undertaken by the Nigerian Society of Chemical Engineers - NSChE'S Vision 2020 project. This was under the leadership of Engr. J. J Akpieyi, FNSChE.

In its report, the exercise articulated the view that in this millennium, the NSChE needed to establish a Foundation, which would help achieve its vision "to be the center of excellence for the Chemical Engineering profession in Africa and '' the prime movers of industrialization in Nigeria .

On the 15th of May 1999, a special meeting of the Fellows of the NSChE was convened to discuss the Foundation idea. This meeting recommended the immediate setting up of the NSChE Foundation Committee (NFC) as a stopgap for the eventual emergence of the Foundation and to facilitate this emergence.

The Foundation, in addition to  providing the NSChE with a stable pool of funds for her projects, was to have the following as main objectives: 

1. Creation of a permanent framework to serve as a major contributor to the resource which will make the NSChE a virile professional body in the 2 1 century; 

2. Provision of a vehicle for Chemical Engineers and friends of the Foundation to demonstrate their commitment to, and support for the profession and creation of a focal point for Government, multilateral (agencies, corporate bodies and foundations to support projects designed by the NSChE to benefit the chemical process Industry, the academia and the society at large.

The NSChE Council, at its meeting of 10 July 1999 approved the establishment of a the NSChE Foundation and set up a 15 member (later expanded to 18 members) Foundation Committee (NFC) with Dr T.M. John, FNSChE as Chairman. The Foundation was mandated, among other tasks, to generate in the next four years, a minimum of One Hundred Million Naira.
Since its inauguration on the 13th day of-August 1999, the NFC has taken steps to meet its target and promote the establishment of the Foundation.
The Committee decided that 25% of the target sum shall be raised internally by levying NSChE Members. The Nigerian Government, employers of Chemical , Engineers and the-Academia were identified as other stakeholders in the Foundation's initiative. Thus the Committee took steps to appraise them with the need to participate in the enterprise. Organizations were informed that the funds generated would be employed for:

1Capacity building in the departments of Chemical Engineering in Nigerian universities; Post-qualification and continuous training of Chemical Process
Industry personnel;
2. Establishment of-the Nigerian Chemical Process Industry data bank;
and the development of symbiotic industry/Academia Interfaces.

At the 1 999 AGM of the NSChE in Portl-Harcourt, the NFC received the approval to pursue these ideal. To elicit ready support from friends of the Society and from Government agencies, specific projects which answered the above broad objectives were to be identified. While work on project identification went on, the imperative for urgent steps to place the Foundation on a firm legal footing was recognized. To this end, the NFC took such steps as are required to register the Foundation with the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) including the drafting of the constitution for the foundation, and nominations into the Board of-Trustees of the Foundation. The Committee received AGM'S ratification of-these steps at Warri in 2000. Thus, the inaugural Board of Trustees to the Foundation was constituted as follows:
Engr. Anthony Olufemi Shoho
Prof.Ayodele Francis Ogunye
Engr. (Chief)Joseph Jemine Akpieyi
Engr. (Chief) Joe OlisaAnyigbo
Engr. DalhaAbdullahi Bayero(late)
Dr. Nchekwube John daniel Erinne
Dr. Thomas Maurice John
Engr. (Mrs.) Modupeola OluremilekunKasim
Engr. Alexander Oneritsebawoete Ogedegbe
Engr. Afolabi Oyediji Razak Oladele
Engr. Babajide Akinremi Soyode
The Board was duly sworn in on the following days: 8th February 2001, on 6th April, and on 8th June 2001 by his Lordship, Honourable Justice S.O. Ilori, the former Chief Judge of Lagos State. Meanwhile, on 8th February 2001,
Engr. A.O.Shobo Was appointed to serve the Foundation as its inaugural Chairman while Dr J.U. Nwalor was appointed as the substantive Executive Secretary.
Presently the Board of trustees of the foundation is headed by Chief J.J. Akpieyi as chairman and Dr. T.M. John as President

(c) 2010 Nigerian Society of Chemical Engineers ---------------- Contact Webmaster